Getting charged with a traffic violation is a very serious matter in North Carolina. From fines and license points to losing your license altogether, traffic infractions can have disastrous consequences. It’s important to understand the repercussions of traffic violations and what to expect should you find yourself facing one. Below are three common cases our traffic attorneys at Ludlum Law Firm work through with clients.
Reckless driving is a blanket term that covers many violations occurring on highways and roads on a daily basis. Ultimately, it means driving dangerously without considering other drivers on the road. Charges for reckless driving includes improper or unsafe lane changes, not using turn signals, running a red light, sudden stops or turns, illegal passing, and following other cars too closely. Expect up to four points on your license and a minimum of a $100 fine if you’re convicted of reckless driving in North Carolina. Keep in mind that should you cause an accident, it’s likely you’ll receive higher fines, additional points, and getting your insurance company involved if there’s damages to other vehicles. Also, be aware that if you receive multiple traffic infraction charges throughout the course of three years and accumulate 12 points, your license is subject to suspension.
Speeding remains the biggest problem for drivers in North Carolina. There’s a reason speed limits signs are everywhere – to keep us and those around us safe and traveling at an appropriate pace based on outside surroundings. The amount at which you speed over a legal limit determines the amount of license points. Here’s a few examples to consider:
- *Driving 10+ miles above a posted speed limit of 55mph = 3 points (2,insurance points)
- *Driving over 79 mph where a posted speed limit is 70mph = Revocation (4 insurance points)
Keep in mind that speeding points on your license do not get erased for a three year period. Should you be stopped for multiple speeding tickets, points will continue to accumulate on your license.
Receiving a DWI (Driving While Impaired) charge is a serious criminal violation that carries severe punishments, including expensive fines, loss of license, and possible jail time. There are six levels of DWI punishments in North Carolina, level A1 being the most serious and level 5 the least. There’s also three categories of “factors” that North Carolina courts use to determine sentencing. They can either be good or bad elements about the defendant or the case. Remember, if you have a BAC (blood alcohol content) at or above the legal limits of .08, you will be charged with a DWI.
There’s nothing worse than seeing those flashing blue lights in your rear view mirror. That’s why our traffic ticket and DWI lawyers are here to help. Ludlum Law Firm works with traffic and DWI cases in Sampson County and Duplin County. Get the best representation for your case and contact Ludlum Law Firm. Let our attorneys ensure all legal requirements in your case are met so you can restore your reputation.