Reckless driving is a blanket term that covers many traffic violations occurring on highways and roads daily. Ultimately, it means driving dangerously without considering other drivers on the road. Charges for reckless driving include:
- Improper or unsafe lane changes.
- Not using turn signals.
- Running a red light.
- Sudden stops or turns.
- Illegal passing and following other cars too closely.
Expect up to four points on your license and a minimum of a $100 fine if you’re convicted of reckless driving in North Carolina. Remember that should you cause an accident, it’s likely you’ll receive even higher penalties, additional points, and getting your insurance company involved if there are damages to other vehicles.
Also, be aware that if you receive multiple traffic infraction charges throughout three years and accumulate 12 points, your license is subject to suspension.
[Need tips on reducing your traffic violation charges? Click here!]
Speeding remains the biggest problem for drivers in North Carolina and is one of the most common traffic violations as well. There are reasons why speed limits signs are everywhere – to keep us and those around us safe and traveling at an appropriate pace based on outside surroundings.
The amount at which you speed over a legal limit determines the number of license points. Here are a few examples to consider:
- Driving 10+ miles above a posted speed limit of 55mph = 3 points (2 insurance points).
- Driving over 79 mph where a posted speed limit is 70mph = Revocation (4 insurance points).
Keep in mind that speeding points on your license do not get erased for three years. Should you be stopped for multiple speeding tickets, points will continue to accumulate on your license.
Receiving a DWI (Driving While Impaired) charge is a serious criminal violation that carries severe punishments, including expensive fines, loss of license, and possible jail time. There are six levels of DWI penalties in North Carolina, level A1 being the most serious and level 5 the least.
There are also three categories of “factors” that North Carolina courts use to determine sentencing. They can either be good or bad elements about the defendant or the case. Remember, if you have a BAC (blood alcohol content) at or above the legal limits of .08, you will be charged with a DWI.
There’s nothing worse than seeing those flashing blue lights in your rear-view mirror. That’s why our traffic ticket and DWI lawyers are here to help. Ludlum Law Firm works with traffic and DWI cases in Sampson County and Duplin County.
Get the best representation for your case and contact Ludlum Law Firm. Let our attorneys ensure all legal requirements in your case are met so you can restore your reputation.